Harvard Study: “Running Barefoot is More Efficient”

More kudos for barefoot exercise! The folks at Harvard have concluded this: researchers compared people who had always run barefoot, those who had always worn shoes, and those who had given up footwear. The barefoot runners had a lighter stride, and used their calves and foot muscles more efficiently. “You can run barefoot on the world’s hardest surfaces without the slightest discomfort,” a researcher said. If you want to try exercising without shoes, try Barefoot Cardio.

8 Responses to “Harvard Study: “Running Barefoot is More Efficient””

  1. kris Says:

    not sure if you saw this. just read it and thought of you. maybe part of same study?

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=123031997&sc=fb&cc=fp

  2. Kelly Says:

    I love your barefoot workouts, Ellen – especially Fat Burning Fusion and Barefoot Cardio. However, I don’t think I’ll be taking to my treadmill sans shoes anytime soon. Something about it scares me and I can see it ending badly 🙂 ….but I am glad to hear about this study. I was annoyed when I heard all the flack Ryan Phillippe got when injured while running barefoot (http://scandalist.thefablife.com/2009-12-21/ryan-phillipes-embarrassing-accident/).

    Ellen, I’m a huge fan of your Crunch workouts – especially Fat Burning Pilates and Burn and Firm Pilates. I can’t believe how much I still love them despite the fact I’ve been doing them over four year. Can those workouts also be done barefoot, or do you recommend I stick to doing those with shoes?

    Kelly

  3. Dee Says:

    I actually did the Burn and Firm Pilates workout barefoot over the weekend. What I ended up with was a burning sensation in both hip joints, which was not pleasant. I think I’ll stick to using shoes for that one. 😉

  4. Sparkle Says:

    Ellen can you please tell me which of your videos is good for toning? I’m new to exercise and I don’t really wanna loose any weight. Thanks!

  5. Sparkle Says:

    Thank you so much!

  6. Toni Says:

    I absolutely LOVE barefoot cardio. I love exercising barefoot!!!

Leave a Reply

