DVD Rotation?

There are SIX STUDIO DVD workouts available now and it’s time to figure out the best way to use them for optimal results. One caveat…I want you to be “intuitive” about your exercise needs – you ask yourself, “How am I feeling today?” and make that your starting point sometimes. I know these workouts well as I didn’t just (merely) create them, I actually teach them to real people every week on an ongoing basis.

***FOR WEIGHT LOSS***

Monday – BAREFOOT CARDIO or FAT BURNING FUSION
Tuesday – YOGINI WORKOUT or FUSION FLOW
Wednesday – BAREFOOT CARDIO or FAT BURNING FUSION
Thursday – SLIM SCULPT or SKINNY SCULPT
Friday – BAREFOOT CARDIO or FAT BURNING FUSION
Saturday – “Cardio Galore” day, which means 90minutes or more of STEADY cardio. Go for long power walk or a hike or take a long bike ride…just aim for 90minutes or more – it’ll kick the fat-burning into high gear!

Sunday day off from “formal” exercise but don’t be a couch potato 🙂

***For Tightening, Toning and Losing the Jiggle***

Monday – SLIM SCULPT or SKINNY SCULPT
Tuesday – BAREFOOT CARDIO or FAT BURNING FUSION
Wednesday – SLIM SCULPT or SKINNY SCULPT
Thursday – YOGINI WORKOUT or FUSION FLOW
Friday – SLIM SCULPT or SKINNY SCULPT
Saturday – YOGINI WORKOUT or FUSION FLOW then finish routine with 1minute of push-ups/1minute tricep dips/1minute of jumping jacks
Sunday – Day off from “formal exercise”

***To Increase Energy and/or Manage Stress***

Monday – YOGINI WORKOUT or FUSION FLOW
Tuesday – FAT BURNING FUSION or BAREFOOT CARDIO
Wednesday – day off
Thursday – YOGINI WORKOUT or FUSION FLOW
Friday – FAT BURNING FUSION or BAREFOOT CARDIO
Saturday – SLIM SCULPT or SKINNY SCULPT
Sunday – day off

43 Responses to “DVD Rotation?”

  1. Sheri Says:

    Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Pat from CT Says:

    Thank you Ellen!

  3. Becky Says:

    Thank you so much for the rotation recommendations!
    I am so looking forward to trying it!

  4. darleeen Says:

    thank you ellen!! last night i even mixed it up and took a zumba class also

  5. Marina Says:

    This is wonderful! Thanks for putting these together, Ellen!

  6. Dee Says:

    Fantastic!! I was just wondering what you would recommend as an ongoing program with your dvds.

  7. Cheri Says:

    This is wonderful, Ellen, thanks for taking the time to do these rotations.

  8. Sarah Says:

    This is AWESOME!! I am so glad you posted this. You are such a pleasant and motivating person to have in my living room while I am doing your workouts. Thank you for posting this information and doing what you do! 🙂

  9. k8hinote Says:

    Thanks so much for posting this, Ellen! My only concern is for muscle repair. I’m pretty sore after your workouts and it seems like working out five days a week, never letting my muscles repair, wouldn’t be super beneficial. I’ve been doing your workouts off and on, 1 to 2 times per week, for months now and I still tend to get sore after some of them, especially the Zen Sculpt from Fit TV (which is my fave). Any suggestions for muscle repair? Is this not normal?

  10. Dee Says:

    Ellen, I notice you didn’t include any of your Crunch dvds (which i LOVE). Do you not recommend them any longer?

  11. Andrea Says:

    Ellen, thanks so much for the rotation suggestions. I also like that you say to be flexible with how you are feeling when choosing a workout that day. I am very much looking forward to trying one of the rotations to see what kind of results I get, and to see how doing these workouts regularly makes me feel. Thanks again!!

  12. Marilyn Says:

    Thank you so much – I have been looking for something like this to make my routine more on point. I am a dressage rider and The Studio videos have been great for making me more supple in the saddle and more at one with my horse. But, I wasn’t doing something right, I wasn’t as toned as I would like to be, so I will be taking your recommendations.

  13. Denise Henson Says:

    Thanks for these great suggestions!
    I have ALL of your dvd’s and also wondered about your Crunch dvd’s….
    They are still great to use right?

  14. Lorie Says:

    This is great! Thanks a bunch.

  15. Dee Says:

    Ellen, I have wrist weights, are they as good as hand weights?

  16. ellenbarrett Says:

    Hi there! They have to be the no more than 3lbs each (preferably 1 or 2lbs each) and do the workout with them as actual wrist weights.

  17. Dee Says:

    Great! The are three pounds each. I wasn’t sure whether to strap them on like they’re supposed to be or hold them as hand weights. Thanks Ellen!!!

  18. Andrea Says:

    I love the Crunch DVDs too — my favorites are Fat Burning Pilates and Pick Your Spot Pilates.

    Ellen, do you have a rotation for your older workouts? I’d be interested in that too.

  19. Kathy Says:

    Thank you so much Ellen!! I just love all of your workouts. I have also just ordered your newest one called Skinny Sculpt. I was also doing the Express Belly Blast workout every other day in between a different workout in between. Should I continue with the Express belly blast every other day, or would it be better to do your rotation workouts as you have kindly put together? I feel sore too after each workout, but I love how it makes me feel. I feel so invigorated and energized. I want the most out of my workouts that I can get. I am trying to lose weight and tone my muscles. Any feedback would be appreciated. Once again, thank you for all of the hard work and thought that you so gracefully put into each and every workout.

  20. Alexis Says:

    Awesome! Thanks for posting this. 🙂

  21. Stephanie Says:

    Hi Ellen! I just completed Skinny Sculpt! I love it! It’s my second DVD of yours. The first was Fat Burning Fusion. I really enjoyed the floorwork at the end. My back feels so lose! I love your philosophy about flexibility and strength at the same time!

  22. Pat from CT Says:

    Ellen, I tried my new Skinny Sculpt last night and loved it. As usual I felt really energized afterward! Here is the fun part – later in bed, I dreamed you announced you were working on three new Studio workouts! I even dreamed the names of two of them, “Lean Stretch” and “Ballerina Barre.” LOL isn’t that funny? Of course we would love new workouts when you are ready. Thanks again for your wonderful routines, they work me hard but I still feel so feminine and beautiful doing them. 🙂

  23. Anne Says:

    Hi Ellen, thanks so much for answering my email! I will keep these rotations in mind as well as how I’m feeling that day.

  24. Andrea Says:

    I would totally buy “Lean Stretch” and “Ballerina Barre”!! 🙂 Funny that you dreamed that.

  25. Dee Says:

    Being a former ballerina, I would definitely buy Lean Stretch and Ballerina Barre! 🙂

  26. Carrie Says:

    Thank you SO much for taking the time to publish a rotation!!!!! I will put it to good use. First time doing Skinny Sculpt I could not WAIT to do it again, so it is yet another winner! Your time and devotion to spreading the word of fusion fitness is greatly appreciated, and I have no doubt I will continue to buy more of your workouts when they become available. I adore them!! And why? Because they give results, both in mind and in body!

  27. Shelley G. Says:

    Hi, Ellen! I’m a big fan! Your Studio Series workouts are some of my favorites! Thank you so much for continuing to give us great, “feel good” workouts!

    I posted the following at Video Fitness, and Pat told me to post it here as a follow up to her suggestions for possible upcoming Studio Series workouts.

    “I think the third one should be an all floorwork video with at least an equal (if not more so) emphasis on the legs/glutes. Ellen does good floorwork, it’s just that she usually only does a tiny bit of it for the legs/glutes. Her floorwork seems mostly core focused. She’s got a nice little floorwork leg series on Crunch Super Slim Down, but it’s so short. I think she could put together a killer floorwork workout. She’d probably do her own blend of ballet/Pilates/yoga/traditional/whatever with it, and she could call it “Fusion Floor!””

    So, Ellen, any interest in giving us floorwork lovers a killer workout for the lower body?

  28. k8hinote Says:

    @Shelley G. – I love that idea! The floorwork is always my favorite part!

  29. Pat from CT Says:

    We are too f unny, dreaming up Ellen’s next workouts for her! I love that title though Shelley. 🙂

  30. Dee Says:

    Ellen, is there a particular mat that’s best to use? Or is one just as good as another?

  31. ellenbarrett Says:

    They are all good. Gaiam, Tapas, Prana – those brands are solid and get the job done. For THE STUDIO workouts, you really just don’t want the extra plush ones (they are great for other things, not just the standing stuff).

  32. Dee Says:

    Here’s another question (I’ll run out of questions one day, I swear! 🙂 I love the studio workouts, and they are a bit more intense than the crunch, and I find that I kinda need a small break in the middle – is that bad? To break the rhythm? It’s not like a ten minute break, just about 30-40 seconds really, no more than a minute.

  33. Kathy Says:

    I just want to thank you for the DVD rotation that you put together. It is truly fabulous. I have been following it to the letter. I have found that the soreness is going away. I thoroughly enjoy each workout. I am ready for the next one when it is available. Each workout is so exhilarating and energizing. I feel so good after each and everyone of them. Once again, thank you…

  34. Tracy Says:

    What size/pound hand weights do you use in your Slim and Skinny Sculpt workouts. They look like 3lbs to me, that is what I have been using. Thanks a lot! LOVE ALL of your workouts!
    Tracy

  35. Roslyn Says:

    I love that this was posted as I was thinking about it a while back as I wasn’t sure how often I was meant to be doing the DVD’s.

    A quick question though, I have Slim Sculpt, Yogini Workout and Fat Burning Fusion, which I do all the time now but was wondering if Skinny Sculpt, Barefoot Cardio and Fusion Flow are going to be available in Australia anytime soon.

    Can’t wait.

    • ellenbarrett Says:

      Hi Roslyn.
      Yes! The new titles (BAREFOOT CARDIO, SKINNY SCULPT, FUSION FLOW and HAPPY BABY, FIT MAMA!) will be available down under this time next year through Scooter Entertainment. We will absolutely let you know exact details (they may be available earlier, perhaps in October) when we firm up with distributor. Thanks so much for your interest in these workouts, Roslyn!

  36. Beth Says:

    Thanks so much…this information has been most helpful. I just love fat burning fussion and I am waiting for barefoot cardio and skinny sculpt…I can’t wait to get them…thanks for getting me back into an excercise routine!!
    Beth

  37. Jen Says:

    Hi Ellen,

    Quick question, I usually walk/jog 2 miles every morning and then take Sundays off. I want to do your DVD rotation AND include my morning walk, is this okay or too much? Thanks!

  38. ellenbarrett Says:

    Hi Beth! It’s perfect – 2miles is a great invigorator and balances nicely with the dvd workouts. :)Ellen

Leave a Reply

