Ignorance is Bliss Until You Aren’t Ignorant Anymore

I’m running in a 5k roadrace this Saturday and I’m not a runner, but I thought, “hey, it’s just a 5k.” So I’ve been running a couple times a week to get into the groove…it’s not my favorite, I’ve gotta admit. Sophie (the dog) has joined me on a couple jaunts – she sets a good pace. Anyway, I just drove my car around the exact path I’ve been running and to my surprise it’s a mere 2.3miles! Not a 5k, which is 3.1miles. I’m waaayyyy slower than I thought. Gotta step it up today, rain or shine!

3 Responses to “Ignorance is Bliss Until You Aren’t Ignorant Anymore”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Hi Ellen!

    My name is Melinda Pearl and I am a huge fan of your exercise DVDs and your blog! I am graduating from The George Washington University in 2 weeks and am an aspiring fitness entrepreneur. I am a group fitness instructor, a journalism major, and three years ago created a dorm-room accessible workout show called “MelindAerobics.” It became so popular that students contact me to be on the show. Your success as a health and fitness guru is inspiring to me and I am looking to see if you have any advice for how I can take my self-branded exercise program to the next level. I’m in the process of creating a website for MelindAerobics so I can upload video to it. I would love to hear any suggestions you may have!! Thanks for being such an inspiration and I hope to be in touch with you.

    – Melinda Pearl

  2. Lainie Says:

    Good luck from another non-runner (every few months I decide to be a runner but I can never keep it up long).

  3. Tammy Says:

    Hi, Ellen,
    Good luck Saturday! I participate in 5Ks, but I’m a race walker; the running club in my area is also open to race walking, or speed walking. That’s where I’ve found my niche. Less impact on the knees, but just as much fun. And it’s always a good feeling when one of the champion runners congratulates you on your race walking speed!

Leave a Reply

