Force of Nature

lairdMy hat is off to Laird Hamilton – I got a lot out of his book FORCE OF NATURE, where he shares his wellness philosophy and secrets. It’s original. It’s honest. It’s gutsy. 

One of the biggest perks to writing for the media is getting free fitness/wellness books from PR people, and I read ’em all. Most of them are filled with recycled shallow stuff that make me wonder where our creativity has gone….This one (which someone gave to Steve for xmas, but lucky me!) discusses barefoot energy, how finding inspiration is a prerequisite to finding wellness, and diet suggestions like hemp milk and espresso. It also showcases a workout that is not gym/equipment based, but instead a kind-of-surfer workout, using the ocean and a paddle. The typical reader of this book is probably male – and a subscriber to Men’s Health magazine – but women can get a lot out of it as well as the info is universal – wellness is body+mind+spirit and tending to all three is necessary. Check it out if you get the chance….or if you are looking for a Valentine’s gift for your boyfriend, buy it for him, “wink, wink” 🙂

2 Responses to “Force of Nature”

  1. neimanmarxist Says:

    hi ! I just wanted to leave a comment to let you know how much i love your fitness videos. After an injury, I worked out with the Crunch pilates series, but I just acquired the “Studio” DVDs and they are a marvelous addition to my routine of running, lifting ,and gym cardio. Thanks SO MUCH for creating a fun, challenging, refreshing workout. My spirit feels lifted after I do any of them,

  2. neimanmarxist Says:

    hi ! I just wanted to leave a comment to let you know how much i love your fitness videos. After an injury, I worked out with the Crunch pilates series, but I just acquired the “Studio” DVDs and they are a marvelous addition to my routine of running, lifting ,and gym cardio. Thanks SO MUCH for creating a fun, challenging, refreshing workout. My spirit feels lifted after I do any of them!

Leave a Reply

