Back in the Saddle (Sort Of)

snowdogs

My first "babies": Sophie (left) and Roxy

Two and a half weeks after giving birth to Luca, I managed to go for an hour long walk in the snowy woods with Sophie and Roxy. It felt pretty good – my pace was slow and I took in all the fresh air I could. But honestly, if it wasn’t for the dogs need to exercise, I probably wouldn’t have done it. I’m so sleep-deprived and my lower back is a little tweaked. (Childbirth ain’t for sissys!)

So my lower back…I went to my naturopathic doc last week and had an adjustment. He checked out my alignment and claimed that my pelvis is crooked, causing a muscle contraction in the lower lumbar spine – yuck! The good news is, with all the estrogren, my hips are “bound to return to their natural state at some point soon.” Several moms have told me that they came out of childbirth with misalignment and it’s very common – why didn’t I know this before? 

Which brings me to Sarah Palin – how on Earth did she go back to work three days after having her fifth kid? First, your child needs you around the clock on day 3 and second, you need to be in PJs on day 3! Maybe since it was her 5th she breezed through things…..but I’m puzzled by that.

But back to the dogs – they really do make you get outside, connect with nature and move. I have so much fun with them and I’m very proud of the fact that they are in great shape – they eat right, exercise often and get a lot of love. Did you know that animals in the wild are never overweight?

One last thing….everything in the woods right now is brown or snow covered but I came upon a vertical wall, like a cliff, that was covered with bright green fern. The fern looked neon in contrast to everything else! It took my breath away and I stopped and stared. Magnificent! It’s moments like this that I forgot about the bags under my eyes, the tweak in my back – and Sophie and Roxy were there to share the awe.

10 Responses to “Back in the Saddle (Sort Of)”

  1. Diane Says:

    Hang in there. Things will get better and I promise you will look back at these days and cherish the memories.

  2. kris Says:

    that, on top of everything else, you made time to write and share with us your experiences…priceless. stay well ellen!

  3. Eva Says:

    Congratulations on your new guy. My favorite way to ease back into shape after my boys was to put them in a sling and go for a walk. There are many great slings out there. I used the New Native Baby Carrier. Hopefully the weather where you live will let you get out. If not, you can make use of a mall or indoor track. Both my boys would go right to sleep about 2 mins after I started walking. It’s calming for mom and baby.

  4. Jenn Says:

    Ellen, congrats on your baby boy! What a wonderful, joyful time for you…but, yes, oh so hard too!

    I agree with Eva, taking a walk with baby in a sling is a great idea. My son was born in December too and I did take him out in a Moby Wrap quite often. The Moby is nice because you can really distribute the baby’s weight across your entire torso. But I will admit that the first few weeks and first couple of walk were very hard and I felt weakness in both my back and diaphragm. Around 6-7 weeks post-partum was a better time to ease into longer walks.

    I’ve been a long time fan of your DVD’s and just rounded out my collection with the Yogini Workout. It sound so cheesy but your workouts have really changed my life! I feel so much more energized, strong, and very limber. At 34 and with a 2 yr old, I’m definitely more fit, more flexible and feel better than ever before! So glad to have found your blog too.

  5. Christie Says:

    Many, many congratulations, Ellen!

    I have been a huge fan of your workout dvds for 3 years now. You inspire me to keep exercise fun and part of my daily life. I have loved reading your blog and was thrilled to hear you were expecting. I am 27 weeks pregnant now and still using a couple of your workouts (though pushups have gotten more challenging with the bump!).

    I want to echo what Jenn said, your workouts have really made a difference in my life! I am interested in hearing how you get back into shape. Best of luck in your new adventure and congratulations again!

  6. rebecca Says:

    I have just placed an order for a few of your videos; and then googled your name, found your website, and then linked over to your blog! I think it’s very cool that you’re blogging and connecting with your fans.

    I can’t wait to read through all your archives; from the few posts I’ve just browsed through, we have a lot of common interests and passions (no more high fructose corn syrup! or commercials trying to convince us it’s ‘healthy’ and ‘natural!’).

    Congratulations on baby Luca!

  7. Anna Says:

    Baby slings are great. I’d like to add that pushing a stroller, especially uphill, is a pretty good workout!

  8. Carolyn Says:

    I can’t agree more with others…your quote in the beginning of your video about wanting to inspire, you do! I have 3 children(natural deliveries so I agree not for sissy’s) I was a college swimmer and never believed that I was truly as out of shape as I was. I lost almost 50 lbs in the last year. At first I solely used 3 of your videos and searched out more. You have a way of motivating without being annoying which I have found with other instructors. Please keep adding more when you are back in full force!! Congrats on your baby-it’s so amazing! Enjoy the ride. I’ve been on it for 7 years and it is rough but so great!

  9. Vanessa Says:

    Hi. I used to take your class in New haven a few years ago. I’ve since moved. But I was just looking you up to see if I could buy a video as I really liked your class a lot.

    I just want to say congrats on the baby. I’m really happy for you. Anyway, take care and I look forward to reading about how your incorp fitness with post partum life. I know your class was the one place where I felt like I was actually working on my baby belly.

  10. Christina Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS ELLEN!!! I am SO happy for you and your family!!! 🙂 I know you will be a fantastic mom. 🙂 It’s truly amazing. Everyday my little guy does something new, or says something he never said before (he’s 2 and 1/2), and I am in complete awe of him. I never think it’s possible – but I love him more and more each day! Yes – there are tough patches – but they are small/insignificant compared to the wonderful gift they are. Congratulations again. There are no words to express what it is like to become a mom! Have a wonderful weekend – enjoy snuggling with your sweet little boy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

