My Favorite Fitness Props

 

We move out living room furniture around so the xmas tree gets center stage....look to the left - the foam roller and the physio-ball also got relocated (but at least they stayed in the room!).

Every year, we move our living room furniture around so the xmas tree gets center stage, but look to the left - my two fitness staples, the foam roller and the physio-ball, also got relocated (but at least they stayed in the room!). When guests come over I'll stash them somewhere i swear....

Have you gone shopping in search of holiday gifts yet? I’ve gotta say, it’s not a pleasant experience for me and some people are really hard to buy for. Here are two wellness-oriented ideas that are inexpensive, and great for men, women and children, older folks and youngsters, the fit or the not very fit. They are the only two fitness props permanently in my house and they actually get used! Plus, they don’t take up much space and can be transported from room to room easily.

1. A Foam Roller (see in the picture, it’s the white cylinder standing upright) is great for muscle massage, posture perfection and ab-toning. You can find them online and also at most sporting goods stores. (I wrote a column about my love of the foam roller – to read it, click here.)

2. A Physio-Ball (the green thing in the pic besides the tree) is fun and versatile. I do passive back bends on mine and it really helps remove the day’s tension that accumulates around my lungs and chest. Physio-balls, also known as stability balls and swiss balls, are for sale at Target and cost anywhere between $20 -$50/each.

* As for a “honorable mention”  – I also adore using very light (1lb or 2lbs) wrist/ankle weights, but those I leave for full on Pilates/toning classes at the studio or the gym – they aren’t in my house.

I wish you all pain-free holiday shopping experiences! Good luck.  xo Ellen

Leave a Reply

