Exciting News

I’m pregnant everyone! 33 weeks along, which means I’m officially “waddling”. I haven’t mentioned it because I didn’t want the blog to become a pregnancy blog. And, for the record, I’m not making a pre-natal exercise dvd. I thought about it (and my pal Erin O’Brien, a pre-natal dvd superstar, encouraged me to make one at the six month mark) but you know, I just don’t feel like an expert, as this is my first pregnancy. 

Since after the first trimester, which felt like three months of seasickness, I’ve been feeling great…just a little more tired than usual. I’ve learned so much about the genius that is the human body and I am so grateful to have this experience. For all you women out there worried about pregnancy weight gain, here’s what I have to say: 1. everyone is soooooo nice to pregnant women. I get many more smiles on the street and doors held open for me. Such a good feeling – all of humanity is rooting for you! 2. I think a lot of the weight gain is retention of fluids and increase of blood volume, at least that’s what it feels like. I’ve gained about 25lbs so far and have about 4-6weeks left, so my “grand total” will probably be around 30lbs. I’ve been THE MOST PICKY EATER, very specific cravings (Goober sandwiches!) but no overeating at all. When I’m done, I’m done. I am constantly drinking beverages. I’ve had gallons of lemonade. I don’t think the weight is “fat” or “stuck” to my hips forever. Stay tuned on this one…3. My exercise intensity is DEFINITELY more moderate. I sometimes see pregnant women go for a hardcore workout. From my point of view, wow, that’s wild! I guess every woman’s pregnancy is different…but a 40minute walk has been my favorite, next to swimming in the ocean. I actually love feeling “softer” and I think that’s the healthiest state for the baby. 

People have asked me, if as a fit pro, does the body change/expansion ‘freak me out” – a totally logical question, by the way. I thought it would, but the process is just so cool. What bugs me is not being larger, but being less physically able. I can’t carry heavy boxes up the stairs. Pre-pregnancy, I was very self-sufficient and now, I need help and things aren’t getting done because I have to wait for assistance! (Re-enforcing the notion that having a certain level of physical fitness is empowering!) I’ve learned how important core strength is too.

I’d love to hear what you all have to say about workout intensity during pregnancy. Some women, like I said, still really go for it. Some women, like me, mellow out a bit.

I’ll be sure to blog about the baby when he/she arrives and fill you in on the adventure of childbirth! :)EB

23 Responses to “Exciting News”

  1. Anna Says:

    Congratulations Ellen! I have two daughters and did workout during both of my pregnacies. I was a competitive runner in H.S. and college and did run through the first 2 trimesters of both of my pregnancies, at a lower intensity and for shorter distances. I also did pilates videos one of which was your Crunch Fat Burning Pilates. The other two were geared to pregnant women (Fit Mama, and Prenatal pilates) I feel that all of the squats prepared me for natural childbirth. I gained between 25-30 lbs both times and it came off quickly between breast feeding and moderate post natal exercise. Best of luck! Look forward to reading all about your bundle of joy and birth experience!

  2. JavaChick Says:

    How wonderful! Congratulations!

  3. yoginimichelle Says:

    Congrats Ellen! I met you a year or two ago at your studio interviewing to teach (only to be derailed by injury). I remember you mentioned how much you were looking forward to pregnancy. It is great news that it has finally happened for you. Best wishes.

  4. SailrsGrl Says:

    Congratulations and Best Wishes! 🙂

  5. Marina Says:

    Congratulations, Ellen! I’m so happy for you and your husband!

  6. Lucie Says:

    Congratulations – that’s wonderful news. I’m in NZ and have no idea what a ‘Goober Sandwich’ is – and from the name alone I’m not sure I want to know LOL! Best wishes to you and your husband.

  7. lhartness Says:

    Congrats, Ellen! After gaining a whopping 90 pounds in my first pregnancy, I was determined to do a better job the second time around. I worked out through 7 months until I was sidelined with an illness. Aside from that, I had a much healthier pregnancy adn felt SO much better as I kept my fitness level up. I did alot of step workouts, so I had to modify my moves a bit as my belly got bigger and the center of balance changed. Towards the end, no jumping and low-stepping only. And of course, I didn’t let my heart rate get up super-high (160 would have been way too high). Come “Labor Day”, I felt great and had a successful VBAC delivery. Yea!

    On another note, I teach a health/wellness class at my church, and one of my members asked for a recommendation on a Pilates video. I loaned her your “Pick Your Spot Pilates” DVD. Hopefully she’ll enjoy your work as much as I do!

    Have a great pregnancy– thanks for sharing!

    Laura Hartness
    http://FirstPlaceVictory.blogspot.com

  8. Joy Says:

    Congratulations! You look so happy and sound absolutely blissful!

    In terms of “loosing” your self sufficient nature, my sister had the same problem when she was pregnant with her first child. She used to stand next to a box that needed to be lifted or next to whatever needed to be carried and tap her toes. She always asked first of course, but the toe tap definitely encouraged whoever she asked for help to be a little more efficient about helping her.

    But her water broke in mid-workout the morning she was due to be induced. She was in labour for 5 hours. I think she would take the frustration during the months of pregnancy over the pain in labour any day!

  9. Carrie Says:

    Congratulations Ellen, sounds like you are doing great. Please do keep us posted.

  10. Melinda Says:

    Congratulations Ellen, I am so happy for the two of you. Please keep all of us updated and I was wondering what types of food you are eating since you are pregnant.

  11. Alexis Says:

    Congratulations!

    I’m having a heck of a time trying to shed the last 15 pounds of the weight I gained when pregnant with my daughter, but my body likes to hold onto that extra weight while I’m breastfeeding, so I’m not really pushing it.

    Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy. 🙂

  12. Jacquie Says:

    aOh I am delighted for you! It has been a few months since last visiting your website…last I was here there was no blog. My gut kept telling me to see what you’ve been up to. I honestly thought, ‘Maybe she’s pregnant!’ So imagine my surprise 🙂 My husband and I are expecting our second daughter in February. I’m happy to say that you have been an inspiration to me since I was attending college and teaching dance aerobics. Since then I had a glorious first pregnancy, gaining only 36lbs with no morning sickness. Post delivery I kept up with your DVDs (I have most of them). Since finding out about our second bundle of joy, I have only gained 6lbs so far (at 24wks…again no morning sickness). My midwives tell me that our baby is healthy and growing and there is no need for alarm. I blame the sluggish and moderate weight gain on chasing my toddler around! I believe that staying active, no matter how rigorous, is very important during pregnancy. I am very anxious to hear about the delivery of your little miracle. If you haven’t already, I encourage you to visit http://www.thebusinessofbeingborn.com and possibly get a hold of the documentary. It is an excellent resource and very powerful. I’m excited that you have a blog and will be very interested in your postpartum workout solution. Best of luck to you and your family. Take care!

  13. fit30 Says:

    Congratulations Ellen!!! I’m so very happy and excited for you!!

  14. darleen Says:

    ellen, congratulations. i enjoy your dvds. i taught aerobics with my third child at a moderate pace. i did not do any crunches after the first trimester. i felt better in that pregnancy than the other two, thanks to keeping active. i also had the best labor and delivery as well. my best to you,darleen

  15. thatgrl Says:

    Congratulations! I’m so excited for you! I have two girls myself ( 2yrs and 8 months) and they are my joy. I just discovered your wonderful workouts thanks to FIT TV, and I’m so glad I did! I used to be in very good shape, but due to coplications with blood pressure gained a lot of weight with both pregnancies, since they were so close together I didn’t get much chance to lose weight in between. Your workouts are fantastic! I hope you have a wonderful pregnancy!

  16. Cristina Daniel Says:

    Dear Ellen, congratulations! Great news! I enjoy your work so much, I spend an hour with you on many mornings before leaving home to go to my stressful job;)Thank you, it was lovely to hear such good news when browsing around to ask whether another Studio workout would be on the way:)

  17. Kristie Says:

    I am sooooo happy for you and Steve!! Love & Hugs to you both!

  18. Christina Says:

    Congratulations Ellen! You are going to make an awesome mommy! I have four kids myself and I always toned down the exercise during and after my pregnancies. I gained between 25-30 lbs with each of my pregnancies and lost most of it very quickly but alway kept 5-8 pounds on until I stopped breastfeeding (it is a myth that breastfeeding slims everybody down – some of us bodies hang on to a little milk making fat!) You are an inspiration to me – I never dread doing any of your workouts – I am addicted to my daily dose of bliss! Enjoy the rest of your pregnancy, all the best for a healthy delivery, and I look forward to hearing about your newest addition to The Studio!

  19. Alyssa Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I’m a mom of 2, and if you don’t mind a bit more advice, I’d say focus on taking care of yourself (and the baby) and don’t worry about losing the baby fat right away after you deliver. (I also didn’t lose all the weight until I stopped breastfeeding.)
    You are absolutely right, the human body is amazing and wise, and there’s a reason we gain weight and hold on to it for a while during and after pregnancy.
    Enjoy this time!
    (And if you have a chance to take a pre-natal pilates class, I highly recommend it!)

  20. Vennitta Says:

    Congratulations Ellen!!!!

  21. Dianne Breen Says:

    Congratulations Ellen!!!!
    I was thrilled about your great news. You’ll become a great earth “mom”-
    I still practice the mind, body experience thanks to you! A little softness is necessary for all the nuturing you are about to do. Looking forward to hearing about your little one. Blessings,

  22. Christina Says:

    Ellen – I am SO happy for you both!! CONGRATULATIONS!! I agree – you’re going to be an awesome mom. 🙂 I also continued to exercise throughout my pregnancy until delivery. Walking, light weights, and pilates style workouts were my favorite. I also took a prenatal yoga class which I loved. I am like the other girl – while breastfeeding my body desperately held onto the last 10 pounds. It’s so worth it though!! Eventually I was able to get it off, It just took a little longer than I thought. I wouldn’t change a thing though – having that sweet baby puts it all in perspective. I can’t wait to hear about your little one and how you are doing. Best wishes to you and your family! HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

  23. Leigh-Anne Says:

    Dear Ellen,
    I am so excited for you guys! I have a curious question and will not be at all offended if you do not answer, as it is a personal question. I am in my mid-thirties and my husband and I are coming up on our third year of marriage. In the last year we opened our own law firm and I had some significant health issues, both of which led us to postpone trying to get pregnant. We are aiming for three years from now so I will be 38-39 when I would deliver and my in-laws are about to go into a frenzy that I will somehow be sterile by then :-)…Gotta Love It…
    It seems you have had a very healthy pregnancy and I am guessing you are 2-3 years older than myself. Did you have any hesitations about getting pregnant post 30 and have you had any issues that others in my situation might want to be aware of and prepare for? I would love any feedback…
    Your workout videos are amazing. As I have recovered from two lengthy hospital stays in the past six months I have been so happy to have been able to actively participate in your videos without compromising my health or form. For anyone who hasn’t done your Studio Series, I think they would be shocked at how intense mind body fitness can truly be. I also appeciate your philosophy on fitness. It has been very uplifting to engage in exercise for mental and physical well-being, as opposed to going all out at the gym hours per day. You truly are and inspiration and motivator and I look forward to what new challenges you will bring to us in the future. Thanks for being You!
    Leigh-Anne
    Arlington, Texas

Leave a Reply

