Burn Fat, Not Oil

Gas prices, climate control, and global warming are big topics right now. We seem to be looking at politicians to “rescue” us…It can get depressing after a while and the popular chant, “Drill, Baby, Drill” is worrisome. I think the solution resides in everyone doing a little something, whatever that may be. Think to yourself, “What can I do?” Here’s what I can do and do do – I recycle. I do all my laundry in cold wash. I also ride my bike whenever and where ever possible.

My bike is famous in my neighborhood – lots of people have stopped and asked where I got it. I’ve had it for four years now. It cost $100 – got it at Walmart, not ashamed to say…worth every penny. People think I had to pay much more for it ’cause it’s so cute and sturdy. What’s great is I sit upright and I can wear flipflops and skirts and tube-tops. Honestly, it never seems like exercise, even when it is! My purse goes in my basket and sometimes, Roxy (the dog) goes in the basket! Riding my bike is a painless way for me to help the environment. That’s what you’ve got to discover for yourself – a painless way to help the environment. Maybe it’s riding a bike like me, or maybe it’s something else….

 

Here's my beloved bike, aka, "Moon Dog." It's fun for running errands and I don't get parking tickets!

Here's my bike, aka, "Moon Dog." The basket makes it really handy for errands. And, no parking tickets!

I used to only drink bottled water, but getting a water filter has helped me reduce my bottle use. (This wasn’t so painless as I was a water snob!)

I admire ultra eco-sensitive people – “off the grid” sounds exciting. Just read LIVING LIKE ED: A GUIDE TO ECO-FRIENDLY LIFE -the book features a ton of great tips on reducing energy consumption. The author is really advanced on the eco-front, yet offers little things that you can do to make a big impact. Maybe it’ll serve as inspiration.

Oh, and interestingly…my local bike shop owner said that his business is booming right now – more fat burning, less oil burning – win/win!

5 Responses to “Burn Fat, Not Oil”

  1. Renee Says:

    Okay, you convinced me. I’m walking over to switch my washing machine from Warm to Cold right now! 🙂

  2. SailrsGrl Says:

    Good tips. I already did the switch to the water filter vs. using the bottled water and not only is it more eco-friendly, it saves money too!

  3. Alexis Says:

    Also, turning off the heated dry and hi-temp wash cycles on your dishwasher are good energy savers.

  4. kristine campbell Says:

    Hi-
    I’m a big fan of your workout DVDs and am doing them most mornings.
    I’m also a fan of riding my bike, a $90 no speed except mine vehicle. I’ve noticed more people riding their bikes which is so great. You are right, it never seems like exercise but just a way to get to the store, bank or post office.
    Have a great day!
    k

  5. TC Says:

    I love your Studio DVDs — just finished “Yogini” (Which made me sweat) and feeling very invigorated now.

    I live in country; riding bikes on dirt roads is more of a challenge (for me at least), but a great way to go sight seeing. We also ride to a close-by cider mill.

Leave a Reply

