The Devil in Disguise

Hi everyone! 

I went out to dinner the other night in downtown New Haven CT and finished rather late (around midnight). As we walked to the parking garage, we passed a rowdy night club – notorious for underage drinking – and apparently, RED BULL, the “energy” drink, was sponsoring the evenings events. Everyone was drinking free Red Bull cocktails and 18year old girls dressed in too teeny clothing loitered on the outside patio that faced the sidewalk. I said to Steve, “Oh God, we have encountered evil.”

Did you know that France and Denmark have banned the drink? There are three ingredients – IN COMBINATION – that make RED BULL satanic.

1. A high level of caffeine –  can be dangerous for people with high blood pressure or anxiety disorders. 

2. Taurine – Taurine is an acidic chemical substance found in bile – Manufacturers claim that taurine magnifies the effects of caffeine. (I have a feeling that the liver doesn’t enjoy having to process extra taurine…)

3. Glucuronolactone – glucuronolactone is a naturally occurring chemical compound produced by the metabolization of glucose in the human liver. It was supposedly a Vietnam War-era drug manufactured by the American government to stimulate soldiers on night watch, but is was supposedly banned due to several brain tumor deaths at the time…(it’s apparently not banned now). 

Exercise DVD shoots are notoriously physically draining – they are long days filled with demanding movement. I drink a ton of water, and maybe sip on a can of coke at the end of the day for some instant sugar. I worked with someone who drank at least six Red Bulls in one day and he was mentally flustered from the start and had such severe leg cramping, that we had to postpone production and rollover into the next day, causing major budget woes. I couldn’t believe that the producers didn’t see the relationship between Red Bull and his lackluster performance. 

Lots of people say “oh, it’s just caffeine” or “I only have one”. The problem is that it dehydrates the system very fast. This effects motor function and brain function. Mixed with alcohol, catastrophe. Mixed with workout, injury. Over time, Red Bull consumption is just plain destructive.

The Red Bull marketing team has done an amazing job making the beverage acceptable for work, workout and play. They’ve reached the teen market, the college market and generations x and y. Let’s be smarter than them and just say no. 

So the story isn’t over yet. Two days later, I’m reading the newspaper, and on the front page, I read about four people who were arrested at that nightclub (the night of Red Bull sponsorship) for fighting, damaging the club’s property and use of and possessing concealed weapons. Eight people were sent to the ER for treatment of “wounds”. No jokes. Again, I ask, am I the only one seeing the connection? 

Look, I’m not a doctor or a research scientist and am I am authority on Red Bull? No. However, my intuition wants me to tell you to RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN AWAY FROM RED BULL.

Thanks for allowing me to vent. Now, as usual, I’ve got to go walk the dogs….:)EB

8 Responses to “The Devil in Disguise”

  1. shelby Says:

    What an overly dramatic sensationlist you are. Get real, this post really shows your ignorance. Please please please do just a tinsy bit of research before showing your a$$ like that.

  2. Jennifer L Says:

    This got me curious so I checked wikipedia and snopes.com.

    http://www.snopes.com/medical/potables/redbull.asp

    According to them, glucuronolactone is not a Vietnam War era drug, but there are still concerns.

    I’ve always worried about the pH. Online they say its 3.3, which is acidic enough to cause dental erosion. Dental erosion is increasing in the US.

    “Popular Energy Drinks Cause Tooth Erosion, Study Shows”
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2008/03/080312125606.htm

  3. Alyssa Says:

    Um, Shelby? Do you work for the manufacturers of Red Bull or something? Or maybe you’ve just had a few too many? Geez, take a couple of breaths and calm down, you’ll live longer.

    This stuff is crap. It has zero nutritional value and, by the way, tastes like cough syrup.

  4. kris Says:

    “This stuff is crap. It has zero nutritional value and, by the way, tastes like cough syrup.”

    eww…so true! i may be immersed in my own caffeinated world but this stuff is so disgusting i don’t need more reasons NOT to drink it…

  5. Alexis Says:

    I think Shelby’s had too many Red Bulls. 😉

  6. Janine Says:

    Shelby:

    Blogs are intended for the writer to express their thoughts and ideas. The writer is not publishing a factual journal so ease up! I find it very inappropriate that you choose to read Ellen’s blog and then disrespect her. Go bad mouth somewhere else!

  7. Christina Says:

    Geeze Shelby – I honestly don’t understand your harshness. If you don’t agree with Ellen’s post, there are much kinder ways of conveying your opinion. You don’t have to agree with her, but you also don’t have to be so mean about it.

    Ellen – I am so with you on how these drinks/other foods affect behavior. I am a teacher and I constantly see the change in behaviors after lunch. It’s incredible. Kids who are normally even tempered and sweet become very hyper and aggressive. Others completely crash. I wish more research was conducted about school lunch programs. Most of all, I wish schools had to abide by more strict guidelines to provide more nutritious breakfasts/lunches for our children. Thank you for your posts! I love them!!

  8. online stock trading advice Says:

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

