Dr. Gabriel Cousens for President!?!

I love Barrack Obama. I’m a devotee of Hillary Clinton. I was very impressed with Sarah Palin last night (watching the RNC). And John McCain is very capable, no doubt. But AMERICA needs a wellness reform! The closest the candidates get to creating a healthy America is discussing healthcare plans. What about getting high fructose corn syrup out of peanut butter? What about removing hormones from meat and dairy? What about educating kids and parents about whole food? A little prevention please. Enter Dr.Gabriel Cousens: 

 

Here I am with Gabriel Cousens at his Arizona center on New Year's Day 2008.

Here I am with Gabriel Cousens at his Arizona center on New Year Day 2008.

You can read his full biography here, but basically he’s a wellness guru who celebrates the interwoven relationship between mind/body/spirit. At first glance, his center seems like a “Hippie Haven” but I assure you that it’s grounded in a perfect mix of science and love. 

If you ever get the chance to visit his AZ center, see him speak or read his books – take it!

I can honestly say I look forward to getting older now that I’ve studied with Dr.Cousens because I know I’m in charge of my health. And, I know that authentic fitness is non-violent – no injuries, no suffering, just beauty – a celebration of life, really.

3 Responses to “Dr. Gabriel Cousens for President!?!”

  1. Anna Says:

    I love this entry! I am an educator and see the crap that they put in front of our children- it isn’t food. I’m raising two young girls, one who is starting a preK program in a New Haven magnet school where she can get free lunch. I will send her with a lunch packed with whole grains, organic fruits and veggies, and organic milk poured into her klean canteen. Sometimes I feel that I’m alone on this journey, so it’s good to know that there are other kindred spirits out there!

    I wish that our political leaders could see the forest through the trees and realize that if we put more effort into preventitive medicine that there would be less of a strain on our health care system.

  2. Kelly Says:

    Ellen:
    I think this blog is a very cool idea! I believe you are right when you say a major shift is coming in fitness. In my personal fitness regime I have been feeling things changing. I am a runner. I would torture myself with gruling workouts on the track and extreme long runs. Eventually, I wore my body out and wound up getting very sick multiple times (because my immune system was suppressed from all the insane workouts). I gradually became aware that my body was trying to tell me – STOP!
    Now, I’m learning that fitness should be something you can connect to, something that is fun and that you enjoy. I still run (but only 3 days per week) but I’ve learned to incorporate other things into my fitness regime (such as your DVD workouts, yoga, horseback riding, and hiking).
    Please keep up your amazing work – I think you are on to something BIG!

  3. Renee Says:

    Hi Ellen — I just found your blog and love hearing that you’re a raw foodist. I’ve been pursuing a high raw/all raw diet for the past 3 years. I love your smile and your approach to fitness. I also am so impressed to know you can compliment Hilary, Obama, Sarah Palin, and John McCain in the same breath. You see the good in all. I love that. — Renee

Leave a Reply

