Buddha in My Bathtub

 

When I soak in the tub, i gaze at a tiny sliver Buddha statue and a "joy" rock and a "love" rock. They are a big part of why bath time de-stresses me.

When I soak in the tub, i gaze at a tiny sliver Buddha statue and a "joy" rock and a "love" rock. They are a big part of why bath time de-stresses me.

After workouts, work or any stressful event, I find total peace in the tub. Espom Salt and pure lavender oil is all I use (no bubbles – they dry out my skin). I’m lucky to have my tub all to myself – my husband doesn’t take baths and the shower is a separate stall – so I can decorate it with a few of my favorite things. It really is my sacred space. The photo shows my Buddha I bought in Hangzhou China…love that it’s silver (they are usually gold or bronze) and I also adore its happy and grateful expression. Beside it, I have two rocks with “joy” and “love” carvings I got as a gift from my meditation teacher. I figure I spend a lot of time in that tub, so I should be reminded of good things while I soak! Make your bath special – you don’t have to be surrounded by only soap. I also have a couple of pretty seashells from Holbox island, Mexico on display. The shells remind me of the most amazing, jaw-dropping sunsets, which I witnessed on that little island.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Buddha in My Bathtub”

  1. ondi Says:

    hello ellen,
    i am from romania (eastern europe- Dracula,s home), love your work, love your mind
    u give peace

  2. martha Says:

    I agree totally- baths and showers should be tranquil, quietly luxurious spaces where one can relax in an embodied, mindful way!
    adding reminders of other wonderful places is a great way to achieve this, and it makes the room warm and personal….
    bravo for taking on the blog-world Ellen!

  3. Anna Says:

    Hi Ellen,
    I’ve taken your class in New Haven once and own 2 of your videos. I enjoy them very much. I just wanted to refer you to another blog that I read and find very inspirational- you may too. It’s Kristin Armstrong’s (as in Lance’s ex) and it’s on the runners world site.

Leave a Reply

